Frequently Asked Questions
How long does the class take?
The class will last approximately 8 hours
Is there a age limit to take the class?
No, the class is open to all ages. However, in order to get your concealed carry permit, you must be at least 21 years old.
I do not currently own a gun. Can I still take the class?
Sure you can! If you are unable to borrow one from a friend or family member, I will be happy to provide one for you, either a .22LR or a 9mm. You will just need to purchase a box of ammo to use for the class.
I have never shot a gun before. Will that be a problem?
No, not at all. I will teach you everything that you need to know in order to use a firearm and pass the qualification requirements.
How far will I need to shoot from in order to qualify?
The North Carolina law requires that qualification takes place from the 3, 5, and 7 yard marks.
Obtaining a Concealed Carry Permit
Is there anything else that I need to do besides taking the class in order to obtain my CCW permit?
After taking the class and obtaining your course certificate, you will need to apply for a concealed carry permit with the sheriffs’ office within the county that you currently reside in. You can view the individual requirements for your specific county by clicking on this link and choosing the appropriate county: Apply for CCW Permit
After taking the class, will I need an additional permit to purchase a handgun?
No, the NC Concealed Carry permit will allow you to purchase handguns without having to purchase additional permits.
Will I be able to carry other concealed weapons after obtaining my CCW permit?
No, the North Carolina Concealed Carry permit pertains only to carrying a firearm. As such, it will still be illegal to carry any other types of concealed weapons.
Will the CCW permit allow me to carry a concealed firearm in other states?
Yes, it will through a process called reciprocity. You can view the current reciprocity agreement information along with the participating states by clicking on this link: Reciprocity